top of page
  • Writer's picture

How do I prevent blisters?

Updated: Apr 20, 2020


I used to get the worst blisters from running. I got mini ones all over my toes and always had a large one under my right forefoot. Sometimes I’d get some on the backs of my heels as well. There’s nothing worse than that rubbing feeling and the longer or faster you run for the more likely you might get some!


Here are my tips:


1. Examine your shoes. When I switched to ASICS I no longer got blisters on the backs of my heels. I had found a shoe that had no “break in” period which is the type of shoe you should go for! There shouldn’t be a need to break in your trainers.


2. Choose your size well. You should have a thumb’s width between your longest toe and the top of your shoe. I’m a US 7.5 and run in a US 8.5. I used to get mini blisters on my toes and toe pain, but now it’s a rare event!


3. Consider prepping your feet especially for a long run or race. In that one spot on my forefoot where I always get a blister (due to a weird shaped right foot!) I either put on a blister plaster or cut out some moleskin (the pink stuff in the photo) which prevents it from rubbing. I know without this on a long run I’m just going to suffer so I ALWAYS pack this for a race!


4. I also add in some anti-blister powder to my socks before races. This helps reduce friction and I’ve had this bottle for YEARS. Just put a sprinkle in the bottom of each sock and then mix it around.


5. In hot spots which might get blisters but I’m not 100% sure I sometimes use a blister stick. Again this acts similarly to the powder by reducing friction in the area and providing a protective layer.


6. Finally I highly recommend double layered socks, especially for trail running where your feet end up in all sorts of positions. If my run is 45 minutes or less I still wear standard single layer cotton ones, but for anything longer go for non-cotton double layer. Just make sure they’re sitting right on your feet - in one of my marathons they got bunched up by my toes around mile 3 which was not a good position to be in!


26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page